Crystal Chakra Meditation

Crystals can help enhance your meditation by providing focus on the areas in your life on which you're working on. You can hold them in your hands, or place them on your body. If you place them on your body, you're most likely to place them on your chakra or vibrational energy points. In this post, we'll discuss suggested crystals to incorporate into your chakra meditations. First, what are chakras? Chakras are vibrational energy points that line your body. The concept of chakras are usually found in Hindu, Buddhist, and other Asian spiritual traditions, specifically those found in India. The word 'chakra' originates from Sanskrit, and means 'wheel' or 'cycle'. The theory behind the existence of chakras posits that humans exist on two planes, the physical (physical body) and the metaphysical (subtle body). The physical body is the mass in which we exist in that takes up space, and the subtle body is energy. The mind is the bridge between these two, connecting the physical body and subtle body through energy channels called chakras. There are hundreds of these energy points throughout the body, however many traditions differentiate four to seven as the most important chakras.

Hindu texts are the most popular variation, positing that there are seven essential, or important, chakras, each with corresponding energies. These chakras have also each been given a corresponding color, symbol, and position within the body.


Root - Muladhara

Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra represents our stability, security, and will power. Stones that can connect best with this chakra are black tourmaline, bloodstone, garnet, onyx, obsidian, and smoky quartz.


Sacral - Svadhisthana

Located at the root of the sexual organs, the sacral chakra represents our sexuality, creativity, and emotions. Stones that best connect with the sacral are amber, fluorite, tigers eye, and carnelian.


Solar - Manipura

Located at the navel region, the solar plexus represents our ambition and intellect. Stones that best connect with the solar plexus are citrine, topaz, and calcite.


Heart - Anahata

Located next to the heart, the heart chakra represents our love and compassion. The stones that best connect with this chakra are emerald, jade, rose quartz, peridot, and green aventurine.


Throat - Vishuddha

Located at the base of the throat, the throat chakra represents self-expression, truth, and communication. Stones that best connect with the throat are turquoise, blue calcite, and sodalite.


Third-Eye - Ajna

Located between the eyebrows, the third eye represents spiritual awareness, intuition, and inner wisdom. Stones that connect best with the third eye are amethyst and lapis lazuli.


Crown - Sahasrara

Located at the top of the head, the crown represents our cosmic consciousness. Stones that best connect with the crown are amethyst, clear quartz, serpentine, and diamond.

Crystal Chakra Meditation

The chakras are believed to become blocked as we go through life. This can happen for many reasons, relationship issues, mental health issues, and traumas can all negatively affect your chakras' clarity. The larger issues need to be worked through with a skilled healer, shaman, and/or therapist. However, we can help clear our chakras on our own through meditation.

Crystals can aid in healing these vibrational points by placing them on top of the body where the chakra point lies. Close your eyes, breathe in deeply through your nose, breathe out through you mouth. Concentrate on your breath. Repeat this until you feel a sense of calm. Now one by one, imagine the chakra points in your body, starting with the root. As each appears, continue to breathe deeply. If the chakra point appears dull in color, concentrate on it and think about the chakra's meaning and how it resonates in your life. Imagine the chakra becoming brighter. You may want to repeat a chant, such as "OM", as you breathe out, as the sound will vibrate through you body igniting the chakra point. Continue this sequence until all of the chakra points are lit up. Take a few more deep breathes, and open your eyes when you are ready.